Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Violet Bistro, Cooking School & Shop. We'd love to have your feedback!

Westwood Village

Type to search our menu...

You are submitting your information to Violet Bistro, Cooking School & Shop and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. Popmenu's and apply.

Our Latest Reviews

Annaliesegeh 7 months ago

Cauliflower

Title: A Symphony of Flavors: Cauliflower with Vadouvan Curry at Violet Bistro Rating: 5 Stars Review: My recent dining experience at Violet Bistro introduced me to a truly remarkable dish: the entire head of cauliflower with vadouvan Curry, pepitas pistou, and pickled shallots. This extraordinary creation showcased the culinary artistry of vegetarian dining, leaving me utterly enchanted. From the moment the dish arrived, its enticing aroma hinted at the exceptional flavors to come. The roasted head of cauliflower, expertly prepared, was a sight to behold. Its golden exterior gave way to tender, perfectly cooked florets that retained a pleasant bite. The vadouvan curry, a blend of exotic spices, lent an intriguing and aromatic twist to the cauliflower. Its rich flavors harmonized beautifully with the natural sweetness of the vegetable, creating a captivating symphony on the palate. The curry's complex layers of warmth and subtle heat were balanced to perfection, enhancing the overall dining experience. The pepitas pistou added a delightful textural contrast and nutty undertones to the dish. Its vibrant green color and fresh herbaceous notes complemented the cauliflower and curry superbly. Each spoonful of the creamy pistou brought forth an additional dimension of flavor, elevating the dish to new heights. The pickled shallots provided a tangy and refreshing element that cut through the richness of the dish, offering a tantalizing burst of acidity. Their delicate balance of sweet and sour nuances provided a delightful counterpoint to the other components, adding depth and complexity to every bite. The presentation at Violet Bistro was nothing short of artistry. The dish arrived with meticulous attention to detail, each component thoughtfully arranged. The vibrant colors of the cauliflower, the vibrant green of the pistou, and the jewel-like pickled shallots created a visually stunning plate that was as captivating to admire as it was to taste. From the exquisite combination of flavors to the impeccable presentation, this dish embodies a true gastronomic journey. If you're seeking an unforgettable culinary experience that celebrates the versatility of cauliflower, and our their other equally as delicious dishes, look no further than Violet Bistro.

Kimberly 9 months ago

Poulet Rôti

I had the great pleasure of dining at Violet's last evening. I thought it would be my typical restaurant experience---eating salad and bland protein. I have Celiac and I'm also allergic to the casein protein in dairy. That means no gluten and no creams, cheese, sauces---or anything particularly tasty. But my goodness was I mistaken. Our delightful server directed me to their sumac-aleppo rubbed chicken. It was divine--perfectly prepared and accompanied by delicata squash in a sage sauce that honestly, you just have to try. I thought it couldn't get any better until a gluten free and vegan chocolate mousse with a coconut based whipped "creme" arrived. Oh my goodness. I told the lovely manager that it was one of the best meals I'd had in decades and I wasn't kidding. Based on how that meal settled, I can tell you that not only were its ingredients GF and vegan, but it was prepared with zero cross-contamination in an allergy free space. Kudos to the entire staff at Violet's for a delectable, memorable, allergy safe-meal. This beautiful bistro has accomplished what most other restaurants simply can't.

Kmercke 9 months ago

Quiche Verte

I had the quiche for dinner and it was superb. The flaky crust was unexpected and absolutely fantastic! It will be hard to go back to a traditional quiche crust after this. It was so tasty and light, but also packed with flavor. I look forward to coming back and having it again. Also, the fried artichokes are one of my favorite things on the menu. Move over brussel sprouts, this is my new favorite side dish!

Sarah459 9 months ago

Caesar Salad

This was a wonderful spot to have dinner with family and friends. Such a beautiful, fun, and trendy spot. The inside reminded me of something right out of a movie as well as the outside. I highly recommend the Violet Bistro for dinner, overall great experience and AMAZING FOOD!

Elizabeth 9 months ago

Salade Mizou

Everything at Violet is thoughtfully prepared, rich, and delicious, but the Mizou salad stood out to me. I love the generous portion of freshly picked, tossed greens. It was perfectly dressed - still light, but flavorful and satisfying. The herbs were a nice touch. It was the perfect starter with a cocktail or wine and the unbelievably good baguette.

Gabrielle 8 months ago

Pommes Frites

My family and I are so pleased to have this lovely cozy French bistro in the Village. The curated seasonal menu has something delicious for everyone in the family. The pomme frittes are out of this world! From the steak to the seafood to the desserts, everything has been delicious and exceeded our expectations. We are looking forward to many more family celebrations and couple's night dinners at our new neighborhood haunt!

Laurnicolecox 9 months ago

Bistro Steak

My husband and I shared an absolutely wonderful meal at Violet. We ordered the Bistro Streak, along with a number of other dishes. Everything was incredible, as was the service. I look forward to returning many more times!

Casteele1 9 months ago

Bistro Steak

Perfectly cooked. The truffle butter really made the mea and brought out the flavors in the meat. Amazing.

Bethwebb 9 months ago

Quiche Verte

What an amazing Quiche. Pure delight to the mouth. I've only had dinner here twice and after having the quiche the first time a few weeks ago I had to have it again tonight. After dinner coffee was perfection.

Celia 9 months ago

French Onion Soup

After attending an art history lecture at UCLA on the origins and aesthetic of the Eiffel Tower in Paris I stopped by Violet for dinner last night. I was alone and sat at the bar. The bartender Charles was busy making beautiful cocktails. He asked me what I would like and I ordered French Onion soup. He set a placemat in front of me with colorful butterflies on it. He poured me a cold glass of water in a lovely glass. Though busy, he smiled at me and made me feel welcome. The French Onion soup arrived promptly. The soup was hot and delicious. The broth was bursting with flavor. Underneath the cheese, bread and broth, on the bottom of the bowl, there were soft onions. The melted cheese was perfectly gooey and the small cubes of french bread were soft on the inside and perfectly crunchy on the outside. It was so good I decided to order dessert. I had the Chocolate Mousse, which is an old-fashioned, childhood favorite of mine. It arrived nice and cold, in a tall elegant glass. The texture of the mousse was silky and the flavor of the chocolate was rich but not too sweet. There was a generous portion of freshly whipped cream on top which was divine. This was the most delicious french meal I've had outside of Paris. Before my son leaves for college at The Juilliard School this fall, I'll bring him to Violet to have the Chocolate Mousse. Chocolate is his favorite!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

January 2024:
Coming Soon

December 2023:
Jennifer, Meta & Rose
Wasilla, AK

November 2023:
Emily, Wok n Fire
Burr Ridge, IL

October 2023:
Sam, Bobwhite Counter
New York, NY

September 2023:
Tammy, Nacho Mama's
Stillwater, MN

August 2023:
James, Big Mic's Saloon & BBQ
Kuna, ID

July 2023:
Susan, McGuire's Irish Pub
Pensacola, FL

June 2023:
Susan, Carlos O'Brien's Mexican
Phoenix, AZ

May 2023:
John, Pies & Thighs
Cataula, GA

April 2023:
Rick, Submarine House
Vandalia, OH

March 2023:
John, The Barley House
Condord, NH

February 2023:
Roselinda, Junction Restaurant
Chinle, AZ

January 2023:
Justine, Blue Sky Cafe
Fletcher, NC

December 2022:
Kelly, Cookies Country Chicken
Seattle, WA

November 2022:
Laney, Archie Moore's
New Haven, CT

October 2022:
Melissa, Noble Crust
St. Pete, FL

September 2022:
Ben, Cinn City
Lynchburg, VA

August 2022:
Rebecca, Udder Delight
Cranston, RI

July 2022:
Randolph, Turkey Leg Hut
Houston, TX

June 2022:
Lawrence, O'Ya Cantina
Chapel Hill, NC

May 2022:
David, Grillsmith
Sarasota, FL

April 2022:
Katie, Jelly Cafe
Denver, CO

March 2022:
Marny, PPC Italian Restaurant
Plaistow, NH

February 2022:
Teresa, Black Angus
Vancouver, BC

January 2022:
Deirdre, White Pie
Colorado Springs, CO

December 2021:
Camille, Patsy's Roadhouse
Hopewell Junction, NY

November 2021:
Sherry, Riverpark Pub and Eatery
Parkville, MO

October 2021:
Stephanie, Hightopps Backstage Grille
Timonium, MD

September 2021:
Megan, Scratch Kitchen & Taproom
Apex, NC

August 2021:
Jerome, Taste of Soul by Ms. Nancy
Burlington, NJ

July 2021:
The Great Greek, NV

June 2021:
Sylvia, Urth Caffé
Los Angeles, CA 

May 2021:
Amber, Haute Dogs and Fries
Alexandria, VA

April 2021:
Travis, El Monumento
Georgetown, TX

March 2021:
Susan, Alden Park
Plymouth, MA

February 2021:
Leilani, Hon Machi Korean BBQ
San Antonio, TX

January 2021:
Goodrich Seafood & Oyster House

December 2020:
Hallee, Pizza Sociale
Los Angeles, CA

November 2020:
Barbara, PPC Italian Restaurant
Plaistow, NH

October 2020:
Charn, Vitaly
Costa Mesa, CA

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA